the Minister of Roads; the Minister of Labour; the Minister of Game and Fisheries; the Minister of Public Works; the Minister of Social Welfare and of Youth; the Minister of Trade and Commerce; the Provincial Secretary; and six Ministers without portfolio. The Legislative Council has 24 members nominated for life by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council.

The Legislative Assembly has 92 members and, like the Legislative Council, has the power to bring forward bills relating to civil and administrative matters and to amend or repeal the laws that already exist. A bill, to be approved by the Lieutenant-Governor, must have received the assent of both Houses. Only the Legislative Assembly can bring forward a bill requiring the expenditure of public money. The extreme length of a Legislature is five years.

Salaries and allowances of the Premier, members of the Executive Council, Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly are fixed according to the Revised Statutes (1941), c. 4, as amended by 10 Geo. VI, c. 11, as follows: all members of the Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council receive \$3,000 per annum as salary and \$1,000 by way of allowances; in addition the Premier receives \$10,000 as salary and \$4,000 allowances; ministers with portfolio an additional \$6,000 as salary and \$2,000 allowances; ministers without portfolio an additional \$2,000 salary and \$2,000 allowances; the Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Assembly an additional \$6,000 salary and \$2,000 allowances; the Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Council an additional \$2,000 allowances.

16.—Lieutenant-Governors of Quebec, 1867-1949, Legislatures and Premiers, 1934-49, and Present Ministry as at Aug. 1, 1949

Note.—See 1	neadnote	to	Table	13,	p.	118.
-------------	----------	----	-------	-----	----	------

Name	Date of Commission	Name	Date of Commission	
Sir Narcisse F. Belleau. Sir Narcisse F. Belleau. Rede Edouard Caron. Luc Letellier de St-Just. Theodore Rostfalle. L. F. R. Masson. A. R. Angers. Sir Joseph A. Chapleau. Louis A. Jette. Sir Louis A. Jette. Sir Charles A. P. Pelletier.	Jan. 31, 1868 ¹ Feb. 11, 1873 Dec. 15, 1876 July 26, 1879 Oct. 4, 1884 Oct. 24, 1887 Dec. 5, 1892 Jan. 20, 1898 Feb. 1, 1903 ¹	Right Hon. Sir CHARLES FIT2PATRICK L. P. BRODEUL N. PERODEAU. Sir Lomber Gouin H. G. CARROLL. E. L. PATENAUDE. Major-Gen. Sir EUGENE FIRST	Feb. 9, 1915 Oct. 21, 1918 Oct. 31, 1923 Jan. 8, 1924 Dec. 31, 1928 Apr. 2, 1929 Apr. 29, 1934 Dec. 30, 1939	

Lieutenant-Governors

¹ Second term.

Legislatures, 1934-491

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of	
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution	
Aug. 24, 1931 Nov. 25, 1935 Aug. 17, 1936 Oct. 25, 1939 Aug. 8, 1944 July 28, 1948	18th General Assembly 19th General Assembly 20th General Assembly 21st General Assembly 22nd General Assembly 23rd General Assembly		Nov. 3, 1931 Mar. 24, 1936 Oct. 7, 1936 Feb. 20, 1940 Feb. 7, 1945 Jan. 19, 1949	June 11, 1936 Sept. 23, 1939 June 29, 1944	

¹ The Ministries from 1934-49 were: 16th Ministry, sworn in July 8, 1920, under the leadership of Hon. L. A. Taschereau; 17th Ministry, sworn in June 11, 1936, under the leadership of Hon. A. Godbout; 18th Ministry sworn in Aug. 24, 1936, under the leadership of Hon. M. Duplessis; 19th Ministry, sworn in Nov. 10, 1939, under the leadership of Hon. A. Godbout; 20th Ministry, sworn in Aug. 30, 1944, under the leadership of Hon. Maurice L. Duplessis. ² Life of Legislature not yet expired.